Basket empty

Finbarr Golden Treasury Of Doo Wop Vol. 8

Various Artists

1956-63 music for the connoisseur, from the ethereal sounding 'Can't We Talk This Over?' by The Diablos to the white rhythmic 'Fatal Charms Of Love' by The Four Cheers.

'Cloudburst' by The Orlandos; 'This Little Girl Of Mine' by The Cleftones; 'Don't Say You're Sorry' by The Kingsmen; 'The Clock' by The Jaytones.

Covering the whole spectrum of doo wop idioms, this CD will not only delight connoisseurs, but also the casual fan (though the latter may not care for the intense early Drifters-type cut by The Marquis - Bobby Hendrick's finest moment! - nor the dirge-like 'The Rain' by The Marques with different voices for two monologues!

Lymon fans will dig The Capitols sides, 'Rose Marie' and 'Millie; also Ronnie Jones & The Classmates' plaintive 'Lonely Boy' and The Elchords' 'Gee, I'm In Love'. The Three Vales' raunchy 'Blue Lights Down Low' contrasts with the sensitive balladry of The Sensations' 'Debut To Love'. The rhythmic 'I Don't Mind' by The Flaming Hearts, for all it's technical imperfection, oozes buckets of soul; and there's humour with Andre Williams' 'Bacon Fat' and The Chips' 'Rubber Biscuit'.

The Explorers' wordless falsetto on the dreamy 'Vision Of Love' is a killer; and dig the wailing chick lead on The El Venos' 'You Must Be True': her bizarre diction makes it magical, and she reappears as the lead of The Altairs' Chantels-like 'Lover's Prayer'.

30 cuts, including rarities making their legal debut on CD, together with in-depth liner notes.

1.  Mickey Tolliver & The Capitols - Millie
2.  The Jesters - I'm Falling In Love
3.  The Orlandos - Cloudburst
4.  The Jaytones - The Clock
5.  Andre Williams & The Don Juans - Bacon Fat
6.  The Chips - Rubber Biscuit
7.  The El Venos - You Must Be True
8.  Ann Keith & The Altairs - Lover's Prayer
9.  The Paradons - Never Again
10. The Tads - She Is My Dream
11. The Swinging Hearts - Please Say It Isn't So
12. The Kingsmen - Don't Say You're Sorry
13. The Elchords - Gee, I'm In Love
14. The Cleftones - Little Girl Of Mine
15. The Sensations - My Debut To Love
16. The Three Vales - Blue Lights Down Low
17. The Diablos - Can't We Talk This Over
18. The Flaming Hearts - I Don't Mind
19. Ronnie Jones & The Classmates - Lonely Boy
20. The Explorers - Vision Of Love
21. The Four Cheers - Fatal Charms Of Love
22. The Mello Harps - No Good
23. The Cameos - Can You Remember?
24. Mickey Tolliver & The Capitols - Rose Marie
25. Frank Ervin & The Spears - Why Did It End?
26. The Demens - Take Me As I Am
27. Ronnie Cates With The Travelers - For My Very Own
28. Gene Mumford & The Serenaders - When You're Smiling
29. The Marquis - I Don't Want Your Love
30. The Marquees - The Rain


Variant price modifier:
Base price with tax
Salesprice with discount
Price: £9.99
Tax amount


All titles are sold and supplied by Finbarr Promotions T/A Finbarr Music Direct© 2016.  All rights reserved.
Website by The Art of Design Limited